The Renaissance period in English Literature (1500–1660)


The Renaissance period (1500-1660)

The Renaissance period in English Literature (1500–1660) 3

The Renaissance period (1500-1660), also referred to as the Early Modern period, can be further divided into four parts:

the Elizabethan Age (1558-1603),

the Jacobean Age (1603-1625),

the Caroline Age (1625-1649), and

the Commonwealth Period (1649-1660)

The Elizabethan Age was a flourishing period for English drama, with notable figures such as Christopher Marlowe, Francis Bacon, Edmund Spenser, Sir Walter Raleigh, and William Shakespeare. The Jacobean Age, named after the reign of James I, saw the works of John Donne, Shakespeare, Michael Drayton, John Webster, Elizabeth Cary, Ben Jonson, and Lady Mary Wroth. It was also during this time that the King James translation of the Bible was completed.

The Caroline Age corresponds to the reign of Charles I, and notable figures include John Milton, Robert Burton, and George Herbert. The Commonwealth Period, marked by the absence of a monarchy, saw Oliver Cromwell leading Parliament, resulting in the closure of public theaters for nearly two decades. However, prose writers such as John Milton, Thomas Hobbes, Thomas Fuller, Abraham Cowley, and Andrew Marvell made significant contributions to literature during this time.

Overall, the Renaissance period in British literature encompassed a wide range of literary achievements and reflected the dynamic social, political, and religious changes of the time.

2 comments on “The Renaissance period in English Literature (1500–1660)


    • July 15, 2023 at 3:29 pm

    I eery tijme spesnt my hlf aan hour to read thiis webpage’s
    postts every day along with a cupp of coffee.


      • July 16, 2023 at 11:19 am

      Hii, Colin,Thank you for your comments ❤️✨️

Leave a Reply